The Rt. Hon. Sir John Major KG CH

Prime Minister of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 1990-1997

1991Prime Minister (1990-1997)

PMQT Written Answers – 27 March 1991

Below is the text of the written answers relating to Prime Minister’s Question Time from 27th March 1991.



Council of Europe

Mr. Simon Coombs : To ask the Prime Minister if he will announce the composition of the United Kingdom delegation for the 43rd session of the parliamentary assembly of the Council of Europe.

The Prime Minister : The 43rd session of the parliamentary assembly of the Council of Europe will be opened in Strasbourg on 22 April 1991. The delegation from the United Kingdom for the session will consist of 11 Members of the Conservative party, six Members of the Labour party and one Member of the Liberal Democrat party. I have also appointed a number of substitute delegates.

The appointments of representatives and substitutes have been made on the basis of nominations by the leaders of those parties concerned.

The same delegation will be representing the United Kingdom Parliament at the assembly of the Western European Union, which next meets in Paris on 3 June.

Representatives from the Government Benches will be : My hon. Friend the Member for Hampstead and Highgate (Sir G. Finsberg)–who will act as leader of both delegations.

My hon. Friends the Members for :

Warwick and Leamington (Sir D. Smith)

Calder Valley (Mr. Thompson)

Twickenham (Mr. Jessel)

Northampton, South (Mr. Morris)

Halesowen and Stourbridge (Sir J. Stokes)

Poole (Mr. Ward)

Ashford (Mr Speed)

Streatham (Sir W. Shelton)

Medway (Dame P. Fenner) and

The Earl of Kinnoull

Representatives from the Labour party will be :

The hon. Members for :

Newport, East (Mr. Hughes)

Wallsend (Mr. Garrett)

Wentworth (Mr. Hardy)

Tooting (Mr Cox)

Liverpool, Riverside (Mr Parry)

Falkirk, East (Mr. Ewing)

Representatives from the Liberal Democrats party will be :

The hon. Member for Inverness, Nairn and Lochaber (Sir R. Johnston)

The following substitutes have been appointed to act as necessary on behalf of the delegates.

From the Government benches :

My hon. Friends the Members for :

Bournemouth, East (Mr. Atkinson)

Broxbourne (Mrs. Roe)

Norfolk, North (Mr. Howell)

Mid-Kent (Mr. Rowe)

Lewes (Mr. Rathbone)

Brighton, Kempton (Mr. Bowden)

Suffolk, Central (Mr. Lord)

Ravensbourne (Sir J. Hunt)

Lord Newall and Lord Rodney

From the Labour party :

The hon. Members for :

Wansbeck (Mr. Thompson)

Manchester, Central (Mr. Litherland)

Don Valley (Mr. Redmond)

Warley, East (Mr. Faulds)

Newham, North-West (Mr. Banks)

Cunninghame, South (Mr. Lambie)

and Lord Kirkhill

From the Liberal Democrats party :

The Lord Mackie of Benshie


Former Prime Ministers

Sir Anthony Durant : To ask the Prime Minister whether he has any plans to assist former Prime Ministers with their office and secretarial expenses.

The Prime Minister : I propose to establish, with effect from 1 April 1991, a financial allowance to help former Prime Ministers to meet the continuing additional office costs which they are liable to incur because of their special position in public life. The new allowance, which will be equivalent in amount to the parliamentary office costs allowance, will be payable in respect of office and secretarial expenses incurred in connection with their public duties. It will be paid from the Cabinet Office vote. The allowance will not be payable to a former Prime Minister occupying the position of Leader of the Opposition and therefore in receipt of “Short” money.