The Rt. Hon. Sir John Major KG CH

Prime Minister of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 1990-1997

1992Prime Minister (1990-1997)

PMQT Written Answers – 7 February 1992

Below is the text of the written answers relating to Prime Minister’s Question Time from 7th February 1992.



Special Advisers

Mr. Harris : To ask the Prime Minister if he will publish the names of all persons who have served as special advisers to Ministers, by Department (a) from June 1987 to November 1990 and (b) since November 1990; and if he will indicate where possible the individual’s prior profession or employment.

The Prime Minister : Information on the names of special advisers, including part-timers, and their Departments is as follows. Information on prior employment or profession is not held centrally and could be obtained only at disproportionate cost.

Special advisers serving from June 1987 to November 1990

Name |Department


  1. Adams |Agriculture, Fisheries and Food
  2. Gueterbock |Agriculture, Fisheries and Food
  3. R. Blackwell |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)
  4. D. Bourne |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)

Sir P. Craddock |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)

  1. J. Dunlop |Cabinet Office (including No. 10) (formerly Defence)

Miss R. Z. Finlay |Cabinet Office (Chief Whip’s Office)

Mrs. T. Gaisman |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)

Professor B. Griffiths |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)

  1. R. J. Guise |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)
  2. D. R. Harris |Cabinet Office (including No. 10) (formerly Lord President)
  3. Harris-Hughes |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)
  4. E. Hartley-Booth |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)
  5. J. O’Sullivan |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)

Mrs. A. Ponsonby |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)

  1. K. Whitehead |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)
  2. B. Wybrew |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)
  3. R. Simpson |Defence
  4. Kerpel |Education and Science

Mrs. E. Laing |Education and Science

  1. M. Lightfoot |Employment
  2. Derrick |Energy
  3. D. Martin |Energy
  4. Black |Energy
  5. Collins |Employment (formerly Environment)
  6. Marsh |Environment

Professor D. Pearce |Environment

  1. J. Rock |Environment
  2. D. Fergusson |Foreign and Commonwealth
  3. Fraser |Foreign and Commonwealth
  4. Houston |Foreign and Commonwealth
  5. R. Liddington |Foreign and Commonwealth (formerly Home Office)
  6. Turner |Health and Social Security
  7. H. Hill |Health (formerly Trade and Industry)

Mrs. T. Keswick |Health

Miss M. Libby |Social Security (formerly Health and Social Security)

  1. Stewart |Social Security
  2. S. C. Bickham |Home Office
  3. P. Godfrey |Home Office
  4. Simmonds |Home Office (formerly Trade and Industry)
  5. Taylor |Home Office
  6. Teasdale |Lord President (formerly Foreign and Commonwealth)

Dr. E. Cottrell |Privy Council Office

  1. J. Carter |Scottish Office
  2. Young |Scottish Office
  3. Hendry |Trade and industry (formerly Health and Social Security)
  4. James |Trade and Industry
  5. Luff |Trade and Industry
  6. Mayhew |Trade and Industry

Mrs. K, Ramsay |Trade and Industry (formerly Environment)

Sir J. Sterling |Trade and Industry

Miss E. Buchanan |Transport

Professor B. J. Hoskins |Transport

  1. Call |Treasury

Mrs. J. Chaplin |Treasury

  1. J. Cropper |Treasury
  2. M. Lightfoot |Treasury (formerly Employment)
  3. G. Tyrie |Treasury
  4. Richards |Welsh Office

Special advisers serving since November 1990.

Name |Department


  1. Adams |Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

Sir P. Craddock |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)

Mrs. R. Z. Finlay |Cabinet Office (Chief Whip)

  1. Harris-Hughes |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)
  2. H. Hill |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)

Mrs. S. Hogg |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)

  1. Rosling |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)
  2. True |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)

Miss B. Wallis |Cabinet Office (including No. 10)

Ms. S. Hole |Cabinet Office (Chief Whip’s Office)

  1. Moman |Cabinet Office (Privy Council Office)
  2. R. M. Gardner |Defence

Mrs. T. Keswick |Education and Science

  1. L. Ruffley |Education and Science
  2. Collins |Employment
  3. Wilton |Employment
  4. Black |Energy
  5. Burke |Environment

Miss A. Broom |Environment

Professor P. Hall |Environment

Dr. A. Kemp |Environment

Sir P. Levene |Environment

Professor D. Pearce |Environment

Lady Strathnaver |Environment

  1. Bickham |Foreign and Commonwealth
  2. Fraser |Foreign and Commonwealth

Ms. L. Campey |Health

Mrs. K. Ramsay |Health

  1. J. Marsh |Health (formerly Environment)
  2. Kerpel |Home Office
  3. M. Grantham |Home Office
  4. Caine |Northern Ireland Office

Mrs. E. Laing |Privy Council Office (Lord President)

Ms. S. McEwen |Privy Council Office (Lord Privy Seal)

  1. Young |Scottish Office
  2. Stewart |Social Security
  3. Anisfield |Trade and Industry
  4. Mayhew |Trade and Industry
  5. J. E. Miller |Transport

Dr. P. W. Robinson |Treasury

  1. Ross-Goobey |Treasury
  2. M. Lightfoot |Treasury
  3. Richards |Welsh Office



Mr. Ron Davies : To ask the Prime Minister if he will make a statement on the respective responsibilities of the Minister of Agriculture and the Secretary of State for Health in ensuring that foreign imports of eggs are free of salmonella infection and satisfy the quality requirements of United Kingdom produced eggs.

The Prime Minister : The Secretary of State for Health has lead responsibility for the Imported Food Regulations 1984 which contain measures for the protection of public health in relation to imported food, including eggs. Responsibility for the enforcement of the regulations lies with local authorities and port health authorities. The Minister of Agriculture acted jointly with the Secretary of State for Health in the making of the regulations.


Members’ Correspondence

Mr. Rowlands : To ask the Prime Minister (1) what specific procedures he has laid down for Ministers and Departments for the answering of hon. Members’ urgent correspondence;

(2) what response times have been or will be established for departmental replies to hon. Members’ letters under the citizen’s charter;

(3) what is the average time taken by Ministers to reply to hon. Members’ letters in each Department.

The Prime Minister : Following the publication of the efficiency scrutiny of ministerial correspondence in December 1990, the Government have reinforced their efforts to ensure that letters from hon. Members receive proper consideration and replies within a reasonable time. These include extensive use of targets for reply times, monitoring and publication of performance against targets, and more efficient ways of dealing with letters within Departments and agencies. Departments will each publish their performance against targets for replies to ministerial correspondence.


Data Information Systems

Mr. Cohen : To ask the Prime Minister what data information systems his Office has (a) agreed and (b) been consulted about with a view to taking part in; what are the criteria for inclusion in such systems; whether they will be linked to (i) the police national computer and (ii) other computer systems; what data protection provisions apply to them; and if he will make a statement.

The Prime Minister : The Cabinet Office and 10 Downing Street each have data information systems.

We have not been consulted with a view to taking part in other data information systems, and there are no current or planned links to the police national computer.

A X400 electronic mail link is planned between the networks, and in due course to other Government Departments.

The Data Protection Act applies to both systems and appropriate registrations have been made.