The Rt. Hon. Sir John Major KG CH

Prime Minister of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 1990-1997

1992Prime Minister (1990-1997)

PMQT Written Answers – 12 June 1992

Below is the text of the written answers relating to Prime Minister’s Question Time from 12th June 1992.



Ministerial Advisers

Mr. Kirkwood : To ask the Prime Minister, pursuant to his answer of 8 June, Official Report, column 10, to which Minister each adviser is attached.

The Prime Minister : The information is as follows :

Name |Minister Served


  1. Adams | Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food
  2. Bickham | Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs
  3. Burke | Secretary of State for the Environment
  4. Caine | Secretary of State for Northern Ireland
  5. W. D. Cameron | Financial Secretary

Dr. E. Cottrell | Secretary of State for Employment

Sir P. Cradock | Prime Minister

Mr. Fraser | Minister of State for Overseas Development

Sir C. Foster |Secretary of State for Transport

  1. M. Grantham | Secretary of State for Education

J Gray | Jointly to Ministers of Local Government, Environment and Housing and Planning

  1. Green |Prime Minister
  2. S. Hole | Chief Whip

Mrs. S. Hogg | Prime Minister

  1. Hopson | Secretary of State for National Heritage
  2. Kemp | President of the Board of Trade

Mrs. T. Keswick | Home Secretary

Mrs. E. Laing | Secretary of State for Transport

  1. Mackay | Secretary of State for Scotland
  2. Marsh | Secretary of State for Health
  3. Mayhew | Secretary of State for Social Security
  4. McManus | Secretary of State for Wales
  5. J. E. Miller | Secretary of State for Defence
  6. Poole | Prime Minister

Mrs. K. Ramsay | Prime Minister

Dr. W. Robinson | Chancellor of the Exchequer

  1. Rock | Secretary of State for the Environment
  2. Rosling | Prime Minister
  3. Ruffley | Jointly to three Ministers of State and the Under Secretary of State in the Home Office
  4. Stewart | Lord President

Lady Strathnaver | President of the Board of Trade

  1. True | Prime Minister
  2. R. Wilton | Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster
  3. Young | Secretary of State for Scotland


Mr. J. Bercow was included in error in the answer for 8 June. He has not been appointed as a special adviser in this Parliament. Mr. Gray has since been appointed as a special adviser.