The Rt. Hon. Sir John Major KG CH

Prime Minister of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 1990-1997

1992Prime Minister (1990-1997)

PMQT Written Answers – 25 June 1992

Below is the text of the written answers relating to Prime Minister’s Question Time from 25th June 1992.




Mr. Madden : To ask the Prime Minister what discussions he has had recently with the Prime Minister of Pakistan concerning Kashmir; what agreement was reached on representations to be made on behalf of Her Majesty’s Government about Kashmir; and if he will make a statement.

The Prime Minister : I discussed Kashmir with Mr. Nawaz Sharif on 17 June. I repeated our hope that Pakistan and India will agree to a means of solving this dispute through negotiation. I made clear our concern about interference in Kashmir by militants from Pakistan, and also briefed Mr. Nawaz Sharif on our representations to the Indian Government about the need to respect human rights and the need for a political process in Kashmir.


Intellectual Property Rights

Mr. Dalyell : To ask the Prime Minister what discussions he has had with the United States Administration on intellectual property rights regarding forestry products and medicines.

The Prime Minister : All these issues were discussed in the negotiations leading up to the biodiversity convention, in which representatives of the United States Administration were involved.



Mr. Harry Greenway : To ask the Prime Minister if he will list his official engagements for Thursday 25 June.

Sir Peter Tapsell : To ask the Prime Minister if he will list his official engagements for Thursday 25 June.

The Prime Minister : This morning I presided at a meeting of the Cabinet and had meetings with ministerial colleagues and others. In addition to my duties in the House, I shall be having further meetings later today.


Council of Europe

Mr. David Howell : To ask the Prime Minister if he will announce the composition of the United Kingdom delegation for the 44th session of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe.

The Prime Minister : The 44th session parliamentary assembly of the Council of Europe was opened in Strasbourg on 4 May. The next meeting of this session will be held in Budapest on 30 June, and the delegation from the United Kingdom, for this meeting and the remainder of the session, will consist of 19 Members of the Conservative party, 15 Members of the Labour party and two Members from the minority parties.

The appointments of representatives and substitutes have been made on the basis of nominations by the parties concerned.

The same delegation will be representing the United Kingdom Parliament at the assembly of the Western European Union, which next meets in Paris on 30 November 1992.

Representatives from the Government Benches will be : Sir Geoffrey Finsberg becomes Lord Finsberg on 27 June. He will be a member of the delegation, and its leader, in his capacity as a member of the upper House.

The hon. Members for :

Warwick and Leamington (Sir Dudley Smith)

Calder Valley (Sir Donald Thompson)

Twickenham (Mr. Toby Jessel)

Poole (Mr. John Ward)

Ashford (Sir Keith Speed)

Medway (Dame Peggy Fenner)

Lewes (Mr. Tim Rathbone)

Bournemouth, East (Mr. David Atkinson)

and the Earl of Dundee

Representatives from the Labour party will be :

The hon. Members for :

Wentworth (Mr. Peter Hardy)

Tooting (Mr. Tom Cox)

Wansbeck (Mr. Jack Thompson)

Newham, North West (Mr. Tony Banks)

Don Valley (Mr. Martin Redmond)

Manchester, Central (Mr. Robert Litherland)

and Lord Kirkhill

The representative from the minority parties will be :

The hon. Member for Inverness, Nairn and Lochaber (Sir Russell Johnston)

The following substitutes have been appointed to act as necessary on behalf of the delegates :

From the Government Benches :

Reading, West (Sir Tony Durant)

Norfolk, North (Mr. Ralph Howell)

Brighton, Kemptown (Mr. Andrew Bowden)

Ravensbourne (Sir John Hunt)

Wellingborough (Mr. Peter Fry)

Bridlington (Mr. John Townend)

Newark (Mr. Richard Alexander)

Lord Newall and Baroness Hooper

From the Labour Benches :

Pollok (Mr. James Dunnachie)

Greenock and Port Glasgow (Dr. Norman Godman)

Newport, East (Mr. Roy Hughes)

Easington (Mr. John Cummings)

Leigh (Mr. Lawrence Cunliffe)

Leicester, South (Mr. James Marshall)

Hodge Hill (Mr. Terry Davis)

and Baroness Lockwood

From the minority parties :

Lord Mackie of Benshie