The Rt. Hon. Sir John Major KG CH

Prime Minister of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 1990-1997

1993Prime Minister (1990-1997)

PMQT Written Answers – 10 December 1993

Below is the text of the written answers relating to Prime Minister’s Question Time from 10th December 1993.



Council of Europe Delegation

Mr. Dunn : To ask the Prime Minister if he will announce the composition of the United Kingdom delegation for the 1994 ordinary session of the parliamentary assembly of the Council of Europe.

The Prime Minister : The 1994 ordinary session of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe will be opened in Strasbourg on 24 January 1994. The delegation from the United Kingdom for the session will consist of 19 members of the Conservative party, 15 members of the Labour party and two members from the minority parties.

The appointments of representatives and substitutes have been made on the basis of nominations by the parties concerned, in accordance with the resolution of this House on 22 May 1992 at column 682 and of the House of Lords on 18 June 1992 at columns 290-92.

The same delegation will be representing the United Kingdom Parliament at the Assembly of the Western European Union, which next meets in Paris in June 1994.

Representatives from the Government benches will be :

My noble Friend, the Lord Finsberg – who will continue to act as leader of both delegations.

My hon. Friends the Members for :

Warwick and Leamington (Sir D. Smith)

Calder Valley (Sir D. Thompson)

Poole (Mr. J. Ward)

Ashford (Sir K. Speed)

Medway (Dame P. Fenner)

Lewis (Mr. Rathbone)

Bournemouth, East (Mr. D. Atkinson)

Ravensbourne (Sir J. Hunt)

Lord Newell

Representatives from the Labour party will be :

The hon. Members for :

Wentworth (Mr. Hardy)

Tooting (Mr. Cox)

Wansbeck (Mr. Thompson)

Newham, North-West (Mr. Banks)

Don Valley (Mr. Redmond)

Manchester, Central (Mr. Litherland)

Lord Kirkhill

The representative from the minority parties will be :

The hon. Member for Inverness, Nairn and Lochaber (Sir R. Johnston).

The following substitutes have been appointed to act as necessary on behalf of the delegates.

From the Government Benches :

The hon. Members for :

Reading, West (Sir T. Durant)

Norfolk, North (Sir R. Howell)

Brighton, Kemptown (Mr. Bowden)

Wellingborough (Mr. Fry)

Hayes and Harlington (Mr. Dicks)

Bridlington (Mr. Townend)

Newark (Mr. Alexander)

Baroness Hooper

Earl of Dundee

From the Labour party :

The hon. Members for :

Pollok (Mr. Dunnachie)

Greenock and Port Glasgow (Dr. Godman)

Newport, East (Mr. Hughes)

Easington (Mr. Cummings)

Leigh (Mr. Cunliffe)

Leicester, South (Mr. Marshall)

Birmingham, Hodge Hill (Mr. Davis)

Baroness Lockwood

From the minority parties :

The Lord Mackie of Benshie